Featured News

Yeddyurappa sworn in as Karnataka CM

Yeddyurappa sworn in as Karnataka CM A 30-member BJP ministry led by Chief Minister B S Yeddyurappa was on Friday sworn in Bangalore. Governor Rameshwar Thakur administered the oath of office and secrecy to Yeddyurappa and 29 ministers on the portals of the Vidhana Soudha, the state secretariat.

Yeddyurappa, who led the party to victory in the recent Assembly polls, took oath in the name of farmers and God on his second innings as chief minister. However, he had to do a balancing act to form his ministry on Friday as he inducted five independents to be part of his 30-member cabinet to cross the magic figure of 113 in the 224-member Assembly. Though BJP emerged victorious winning 110 seats, it fell short of a simple majority, necessitating seeking support of the independents.

The function was attended by a galaxy of leaders, including BJP president Rajnath Singh, L K Advani, Gujarat Chief Minister Narendra Modi, VHP leader Ashok Singhal, Gopinath Munde, Maneka Gandhi and thousands of saffron party activists.

Comments are closed.