Featured News

UPA to declare Hyderabad as Union Territory?

UPA to declare Hyderabad as Union Territory?

After 83 MLAs and 10 MPs from Telangana region resigned, political analysts are wondering why none of the MLAs and MPs from Hyderabad have not followed suit.

Those from the city who have kept away from the separate state agitation include Secunderabad Congess MP Anjan Kumar Yadav (Cong), Asaduddin Owaisi (MIM), Malkajgiri MP Sarve Satyanarayana, ministers D Nagender, Mukesh Goud and P Shankar Rao, and Congress MLAs M Shahsihdar Reddy and T Manemma. Also in this list is Kukatpally MLA Jayaprakash Narayan as well as the MIM MLAs.

Congress sources say that the party high command can mobilize these leaders to project the point of view that Hyderabad and Telangana are not necessarily the same and that the former has its own distinct identity. In fact, Danam and Mukesh have in the past campaigned for Hyderabad to be made a Union Territory in case of division of the state.

Comments are closed.