Featured News

Six Seemandhra Union Ministers Quit

Hyderabad, Oct 4 (INN): As many as six Union Ministers from the Seemandhra region resigned from their posts in protest against the Union Cabinet’s decision to bifurcate Andhra Pradesh.

While Kavuri Sambasiva Rao (Textiles), MM Pallam Raju (HRD), K Chiranjeevi (Tourism) and Kotla Surya Prakash Reddy (Railways) resigned on Thursday night itself, two more ministers – D Purandeswari and K Krupa Rani announced their resignation from the Union Cabinet on Friday.

While Chiranjeevi faxed his resignation to Prime Minister Dr Manmohan Singh, Pallam Raju called the Prime Minister immediately after the cabinet meeting to convey his decision to quit. Manmohan Singh has advised the ministers not to take a hasty decision. He even called up Chiranjeevi over phone on Friday asking him to review his decision. (INN)

Comments are closed.