Featured News

Six Seemandhra MPs Meet Speaker Over Resignations

Six Seemandhra MPs Meet Speaker Over Resignations

New Delhi, Sept 28 (INN): Six Lok Sabha MPs including four from the Congress party met Speaker Meira Kumar on Saturday requesting her to accept the resignations that they submitted in protest against the proposed bifurcation of Andhra Pradesh.

Talking to reporters after meeting the Speaker, the Congress MPs – Lagadapati Rajagopal, A Sai Prathap, Undavalli Arun Kumar and Anantha Venkatarami Reddy said that they individually requested Meira Kumar to accept their resignations. They told the Speaker that the resignations were given with full consciousness and in tune with the people’s aspirations.

Undavalli said that they MPs have resigned from their post as per the aspirations of the people who elected them as their representatives. Demanding that the Centre reverse its decision on division of State to carve out Telangana, the MPs were fully confident that their resignations would pressurise the Congress High Command to re-consider its decision. They were also confident that the Telangana Bill would not reach the Parliament.

Meanwhile, YSR Congress MPs Mekapati Rajamohan Reddy and Sabbam Hari too called on the Speaker requesting her to accept their resignations. (INN)

Comments are closed.