Featured News

Sir Salman Rushdie wins Best of Booker

Sir Salman Rushdie wins Best of Booker Sir Salman Rushdie has won the Best of Booker for his novel Midnight’s Children. The award was announced earlier on Thursday at the South Bank Center in London to mark the 40th anniversary of the Booker Prize. For the first time, millions of people voted online for their favourite authors.

Midnight’s Children won both the 1981 Booker Prize and the Booker of Bookers Prize in 1993 – a celebratory award created for the best book to win a Booker Prize in its first 25 years.

His book Midnight’s Children, which many consider to be his best ever, is the story of a man born at the stroke of midnight in 1947, just as India wakes up to independence.

Pat Parker’s The Ghost Road; Peter Carey’s Oscar and Lucinda; JM Coetzee’s Disgrace; J G Farrell’s The Siege of Krishnapur and Nadine Gordimer’s The Conservationist were the other contenders for the honour.

Comments are closed.

Connect with us

Sign up For Our News Letter