Featured News

Rajya Sabha by-polls on June 26

Rajya Sabha by-polls on June 26 The Election Commission has decided to hold by-polls to 8 Rajya Sabha seats, including 4 in Karnataka, on June 26.
Bye-elections to 4 seats in Kartanaka have been necessitated following retirement of senior Congress members Janardhana Poojary, Prema Cariappa and M V Rajashekaran and Vijay Mallya. Elections to the seats could not be held earlier due to non-existence of the Electoral College which is the state assembly.
Polls to three casual vacancies — one each in Bihar, Nagaland and West Bengal will also be held on the same day. In Bihar, bypolls will be held to fill the vacancy caused by the disqualification of BJP member Jai Narayan Prasad Nishad. In Nagaland and West Bengal, elections will be held for one seat each with the resignation of T R Zeliang and Barun Mukherjee.
The Commission also decided to hold by-polls to 7 seats in Karnataka Legislative Council and one in Andhra Pradesh Legislative Council the same day.
According to the schedule, notifications will be issued on June nine and last date for filing nominations will be June 16. The scrutiny will take place the following day. Last date for withdrawal of nominations is June 19. Counting of votes will take place on June 26 after the polling.

Comments are closed.