Featured News

Race For Karnataka CM Chair Intensifies

Race For Karnataka CM Chair Intensifies

Bharatiya Janata Party is hoping to resolve its Karnataka crisis on Wednesday when party MLAs meet for the final round to choose the successor to chief minister B S Yeddyurappa, who resigned on Sunday. While stepping down, Yeddyurappa had publicly demanded Gowda’s name as his successor. Evidently, D V Sadananad Gowda, MP from Udupi-Chikmagalur and former party chief in the state, is emerging as the clear frontrunner in the race for the new chief minister. Simultaneously, former Union minister Ananth Kumar is backing state leader Jagdish Shettar, the closest contestant to Gowda.

BJP central leaders are hopeful that the matter can be resolved by a consensus, though there is also a provision of secret ballot to be used to choose the new leader. If the anti-Gowda camp does not insist on an electoral process to pick the new leader, the party could consider having a deputy CM to appease the camp. But if there has to be voting, then whoever emerges as clear leader will be CM and there would be no need to post a deputy to him.

Yeddyurappa has the support of over 60 MLAs and he wants his nominee DV Sadananada Gowda be made the next CM. On the other hand, Kumar and company which is said to be backed by a substantial number of MLAs, is desperately trying to drive a wedge in the Yeddyurappa camp so that the fight gets to a photo finish

Comments are closed.