Featured News

Police book FIR against 16 AP ministers

Police book FIR against 16 AP ministers

The Saifabad police on Friday registered an FIR against 16 ministers haiingl from Andhra and Rayalaseema for their alleged remarks while opposing the bifurcation of AP in their representation before the Srikrishna Committee on Aug. 6.

The cases were booked under Section 499 of the IPC (defamation), Section 500 (punishment for defamation) and Section 153 (A) (promoting enmity between different groups on grounds of religion, race, language etc). The FIR was registered following a directive from First Additional Chief Metropolitan Magistrate at Nampally, Shaik Peeria Ismail, on the basis of a complaint filed by the Telangana Advocates Joint Action Committee (TAJAC).

In his complaint, TAJAC co-convenor T Sriranga Rao claimed that the ministers insulted the ‘people of Telangana’. According to him, in their Aug. 6 representation to the Srikrishna Committee, the ministers described those seeking division in the name of ‘self-rule’ and ‘self-pride’ as anti-nationals.

Comments are closed.