Featured News

India to go full throttle on Nuclear Deal

India to go full throttle on Nuclear Deal Dr Manmohan Singh government won the vote of confidence in Parliament and India is all set to go full throttle to wrap up the Nuclear Deal.
A number of ministers and officials will approach a number of the 45-nation Nuclear Suppliers Group (NSG) countries to muster support for the nuclear deal, particularly focusing on nations which have had reservations so far on allowing exemption to India.

Government expects the International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA) Board of Governors to approve the India-specific safeguards agreement during its meeting on August 1. Then India will have to get a waiver by consensus from NSG to allow it to have civil nuclear cooperation with the international community.

The ministers, who include Kapil Sibal, Prithviraj Chavan and Anand Sharma, will explain India’s position and dwell on the reasons for giving exemption. Besides the ministers, National Security Adviser M K Narayanan, Foreign Secretary Shivshankar Menon and some other officials of the Ministry of External Affairs will also travel abroad to lobby support.

After the government won the confidence motion, the US tonight said it will work with Indian government to expedite the processes at IAEA and NSG.

Comments are closed.