Featured News

57th National Film Awards: Who will be the best actor?

57th National Film Awards: Who will be the best actor?

Thiruvananthapuram, Sep 15, With the 57th National Film Awards to be announced Wednesday afternoon, the question is who will win the best actor award?

Will Amitabh Bachchan catch up with Malayalam megastar Mammootty and South Indian superstar Kamal Haasan?

Mammootty and Kamal Haasan have won the national award for best actor thrice and Bachchan twice in his career.

Kamal Haasan had won the award for the Tamil film “Moonampirai” in 1983, for “Nayakan” in 1988 and for “Indian” in 1997.

Mammootty won the prestigious award in 1990 for his roles in “Mathilukal” and “Oru Vadakan Veeragatha”, in 1994 for “Ponthanmada” and “Vidheyan” and in 1999 for “Dr. Babasaheb Ambedkar”.

Big B won the award in 1991 for “Agnipath” and in 2006 for “Hum”.

So, will Mammootty become the first to win best actor award for a record fourth time?

“Acting is not about winning or losing,” says Mammootty.

“I have done my job,” he said. “I have just reached here and during the next two to three weeks I am going to complete my Malayalam-Kannada film ‘Shikari’,” Mammooty told IANS over telephone from Shimoga in Karnataka.

The veteran superstar’s three films — “Pazhassi Raja”, “Kutty Shranku” and “Paleri Manickam: Oru Pathirathri Kolapathakathinte Katha” — have been nominated for the National Film Awards.

The 57th National Film Awards will be presented to the best of Indian cinema released during the year 2009.

Comments are closed.